Happy Black History Month! In celebration of black writers, I want to kick the month off by spotlighting interesting science fiction and fantasy novels by black indie writers. Check it out!

1. Tic Online by Von Johnson

When US NAVYSPACE’s newest flagship, the fold jump capable USS Galileo is captured by the hostile Azian Maou force The Keepers of Purity Army its successful return is placed on the shoulders of NAVYSPACE’s youngest and brightest Commanding Officer Captain Carey Desaro.

5-Star Review:Tic Online is one of those stories reminiscent of the classic 80’s and 90’s SciFi. It blends military life with high adventure, all the while weaving a world of technological advancements and new cultures. Highly recommended.” – Cooperrein, Amazon

2. Faction of Time by Tilly Tiason

Shut in Hell’s fortress, perched at a bar, airing his troubles to a couple of drunks Grumbled Uhr realizes he is dead. So how’d he get there? How did he go from being a high schooler to being dead?Grumbled can manipulate time and lives in a realm of monsters and magic.When his old best friend, Roue, meets Gara his fear of any possible future is shaken to the core. Gara has a grisly secret that places them all at risk.

5-Star Review: “An awesome book of fantasy, adventure and magic. Complete with trolls, skin-walkers and dragons. Fans of Harry Potter, Lord of the Rings and Cirque du Freak will enjoy the read.” – Darron, Amazon

3. Eve and the Faders by Berneta L. Haynes and Lornett B. Vestal

The first time it happened, Eve almost killed a kid. That’s when she learned the importance of secrecy—after all, it was nobody’s business that she could disappear or break most things with her bare hands. Years later, she lives an ordinary life as a high school English teacher, with a bank account as bleak as her social life and nobody aware of her special gift. As it turns out, an ordinary life sort of sucks…until she gets a mysterious job offer.

5-Star Review: “This book was so interesting from start to finish. Eve’s journey was incredible. So happy I read this book!” – Sharisse, Amazon

4. Nasomi’s Quest: Legends of Ao #1 by Enock Simbaya

A love story. An ordinary girl and a tribal prince fall in love. Loving her costs him everything. Loving him earns her a vengeful nemesis. An adventure story. Witches, magic, secrets, dangerous things to come. He’s taken to the edge of the world. Grappling an unwanted gift, she follows. A transformation story. All she wants is to be an ordinary woman, but she may have to become something more.

5-Star Review: “There is so much in Nasomi’s Quest which is delightfully surprising, especially in those instances where the supernatural incorporates itself into the story in unexpected yet matter-of-fact and natural ways. The worldbuilding, especially the magical lore, and social cultures of the various villages, makes for a fun read. Both adults and kids will like this folkloric novel. I recommend it highly.” – Carole, Amazon

5. Claiming T-Mo by Eugene Bacon

In this lush interplanetary tale, Novic is an immortal Sayneth priest who flouts the conventions of a matriarchal society by choosing a name for his child. This act initiates chaos that splits the boy in two, unleashing a Jekyll-and-Hyde child upon the universe. Named T-Mo by his mother and Odysseus by his father, the story spans the boy’s lifetime — from his early years with his mother Silhouette on planet Grovea to his travels to Earth where he meets and marries Salem, and together they bear a hybrid named Myra. 

5-Star Review: “A whole new world is created before our eyes, which wonderfully escapes any definition: of course, there will be references to Afrofuturism, magical realism and what not, but Bacon proves single-handedly that genres and definitions are only created in order to be destroyed.” – Seb, Goodreads

Leave a Comment

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s